Vine culture and local products

 

VINEYARDS OF THE CORBIÈRES

The cultivation of the vine in the Corbières massif goes back to the second century before our era. It was introduced by Greek merchants, but really developed in the early days of the Roman occupation. During the Middle Age, monastic vineyards are developped with the foundations of the abbeys of Lagrasse, Fontfroide, Caunes-Minervois and Saint-Hilaire. The monks improve viticulture.

When the ideology of the Cathars became dominant, there was no ban on wine contrary to the bogomils and the manicheans who had included it in their forbidden food. But during the crusade against the Albigeois, according to the Jesuit Langlois, partisan of the crusade, Henri de Beaujeu, 'for three whole months, held his troops to burn wheat, to snatch vines, to cut hedges and trees, to knock down houses ', to ruin paths and make a desert of one of the most beautiful countries in the world."

The Black Prince did the same during the Hundred Years war where its progress in the Languedoc ended by the irradication of vineyards.

The Canal du Midi, inaugurated in 1681, relaunched wine production in the Languedoc, it could be exported to Toulouse, Bordeaux and Marseille. The Canal, which crosses this vineyard on 40 kilometers, had the effect of enlarging the area of sale for local producers and in the years 1730-1740, this trade allowed the farms to increase their production.

From 1855, the vineyard knew a strong progression. But the powdery mildew crisis followed by the phylloxera, then the overproduction of wine of inferior quality started the wine trade revolt of 1907.

The cooperative movement which followed during the 1930s gave a boost to the viticulture. In the middle of the twentieth century, the winemakers decide to choose quality for quantity. The wine from the Corbières is recognized by the INAO as a wine of superior quality (VDQS) since 1951, then as an appellation of controlled origin (AOC) since 1985. The average volume of Corbières, produced each year, is 554 000 hectoliters. This production comes from more than 13 500 hectares referenced in the appellation and from the work of more than 2 200 producers.

Red wines constitute 95% of the production, the wine of Corbières displays a great variety of colors and flavors.

The vineyards of the Corbières...

Nowadays the grape harvesting machines do the job.

Thanks to Thierry Raynaud for the two photos above.

 

“LE MOULIN DE FABI”

moulin de fabi

 Le Moulin de Fabi welcomes you in the sale point of the mill and offers a range of olive oils developed on site from the species Olivières, Lucques, Verdale, Picholine and Bouteillan. The basil flavoured oil as well as oil the edible green olives are also available.

Contact information

Contact :

Fabienne FONTES

Le Moulin de Fabi Adresse : La Prade 11800 FLOURE

Tel travail : 04 68 79 15 55

Fax : 04 68 79 10 78

GPS coordinates : Lon : 2.489321 Lat : 43.183471

Driving directions, at the level of Floure on RD 6113 between Capendu and Trèbes

HUILE-D-OLIVE-DU-PC

 

LOCAL PRODUCERS DIRECTORY (INTERCOMMUNALITY)

Viticulture et produits locaux

VIGNOBLES DES CORBIÈRES

La culture de la vigne dans le massif des Corbières remonte au IIe siècle avant notre ère. Elle fut introduite par les marchands grecs, mais se développa réellement au début de l'occupation romaine. Au cours du Moyen Âge se développent des vignobles monastiques avec les fondations des abbayes de Lagrasse, Caunes-Minervois, Fontfroide et de Saint-Hilaire. Les moines améliorent la viticulture.

Lorsque l'idéologie des cathares devint dominante, il n'y eut aucun interdit sur le vin contrairement aux bogomiles et aux manichéens qui l'avaient inclus dans leurs interdits alimentaires. Mais au cours de la croisade contre les Albigeois, selon le jésuite Langlois, partisan de la croisade, Henri de Beaujeu, « Durant trois mois entiers, occupa ses troupes à brûler les blés, à arracher les vignes, à couper les haies et les arbres, à abattre les maisons, à ruiner les chemins, à faire un désert de l'un des plus beaux pays du monde ».

Le Prince Noir fit de même au cours de la guerre de Cent Ans où son avancée dans le Languedoc se solda par l'arrachage du vignoble.

 Le canal du Midi, inauguré en 1681, relança la production du vin en Languedoc qui pouvait être exporté vers Toulouse, Bordeaux et Marseille. Le canal, qui traverse ce vignoble sur 40 kilomètres, eut pour effet d'élargir la zone de vente des producteurs locaux et dans les années 1730-1740, ce commerce permit aux exploitations agricoles d'augmenter leur production.

À partir de 1855, le vignoble connut une forte progression. Mais la crise de l'oïdium, suivie du phylloxéra, puis la surproduction des vins de qualité inférieure engendrèrent la révolte viticole de 1907.

Le mouvement coopératif qui s'ensuivit au cours des années 1930 redonna un essor de la viticulture. Au milieu du xxe siècle, les vignerons décident de choisir la qualité contre la quantité. Le vin de Corbières est reconnu par l'INAO comme vin de qualité supérieure (VDQS) depuis 1951, puis comme appellation d'origine contrôlée (AOC) depuis 1985. Le volume moyen de Corbières produit chaque année est de 554 000 hectolitres. Cette production est issue de plus de 13 500 hectares référencés dans l'appellation et du travail de plus de 2 200 producteurs.

Les vins rouges constituent 95 % de la production, les vins de Corbières affichent une grande richesse de couleurs et d'arômes.

Le vignoble des Corbières...

Les machines à vendanger font désormais le travail.

 

Merci à Thierry Raynaud pour les deux photos ci-dessus.

 

Le Moulin de Fabi

moulin de fabi

 

Le Moulin de Fabi vous accueille sur le point de vente du Moulin et propose une gamme d'huiles d'olive élaborées sur place à la partir des variétés olivières, lucques, verdale, picholine et bouteillan. L'huile au basilic, ainsi que les olives vertes de bouche sont aussi disponibles.

Coordonnées

Contact :

Fabienne FONTES

Le Moulin de Fabi Adresse : La Prade 11800 FLOURE

Tel travail : 04 68 79 15 55

Fax : 04 68 79 10 78

Coordonnées GPS : Lon : 2.489321 Lat : 43.183471

Indications routières, au niveau de Floure sur la RD 6113 entre Capendu et Trèbes

HUILE-D-OLIVE-DU-PC

 

ANNUAIRE DES PRODUCTEURS LOCAUX (INTERCOMMUNALITÉ)